News & Updates

Grand Slam Winners of 2020-19

Grand Slam

List of Grand Slam Winners in Male and Female Category

Grand Slam Winners-Mens
2020Australian OpenNovak DjokovicDominic Thiem
2019U.S. OpenRafael NadalDaniil Medvedev
2019WimbledonNovak DjokovicRoger Federer
2019French OpenRafael NadalDominic Thiem
2019Australian OpenNovak DjokovicRafael Nadal
Grand Slam Winners- Womens
2020Australian OpenSofia KeninGarbine Muguruza
2019U.S. OpenBianca AndreescuSerena Williams
2019WimbledonSimona HalepSerena Williams
2019French OpenAshleigh BartyMarketa Vondrousova
2019Australian OpenNaomi OsakaPetra Kvitova

Grand Slam (tennis)

The Grand Slam tournaments, also called majors, are the four most-important annual tennis events. They offer the most ranking points, prize money, public and media attention, the greatest strength and size of field, and greater number of “best of” sets for men.

Each tournament is played over a period of two weeks.

 Wimbledon is the oldest, founded in 1877, followed by the US in 1881, the French in 1891, and the Australian in 1905. However, of these four, only Wimbledon was a major before 1924–25, the time when all four became designated Grand Slam tournaments.

Skipping Grand Slam tournaments—especially the Australian Open because of the remoteness, the inconvenient dates (around Christmas and New Year’s Day) and the low prize money—was not unusual before 1982, which was the start of the norm of counting Grand Slam titles.

The term Grand Slam, without qualification, and also originally, refers to the achievement of winning all four major championships within a single calendar year within one of the five events: men’s and women’s singles; men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles. In doubles, one team may accomplish a Grand Slam playing together or one player may achieve it with different partners.

For very important GD Topics and tips which helps you in AirForce and SSB:

For Further Contact Us Please Visit: